fbpx

Today, audio transcription is increasingly in demand. Rather time-consuming to do by hand, you may be wondering how to automate this process to save precious minutes, right? Let's take a look at the best ways to meet your audio to text transcription needs.

The difference between transcription and audio transcription?

 

Transcribe or retranscribe, what is the difference and, above all, which is the most appropriate in your case? Let's start by seeing the difference:

  • The transcription: it is the precise writing of what is said, to the word
  • The transcript: you will write down what is said by modifying or rearranging what is said.

 

The difference will therefore mainly be seen in the rendering, depending on how you write to transform your audio recording into a text document. However, it will also depend on the purpose of your transcriptions. Indeed, a trial or meeting transcript will surely require more detail or precision than subtitles and therefore require you to write the words word for word.

How do I convert an audio document to text?

 

There are several techniques for converting audio documents into text. You can choose to do it manually or automatically using professional services.

 

To do this manually, you will listen to your audio document and write each sentence you hear in a text document such as Word or Google Doc for example. 

 

Professional services, meanwhile, will take three forms: human, software, or that of an online tool.

 

You can ask companies to do your audio transcription, but at a cost and you may not have the budget for it. The rates are often high.

 

You can use software to transcribe your audio document. Often the software will help you in this transcription step but there is still a lot to be done by hand. You can use the voice input feature of a software program to listen to your recording and then dictate what you hear into the software program that will transcribe it (this is called the parrot technique). So the software is a semi-automation of the process.



You can use an online tool, there have been several of them for the last few years. They often integrate a voice recognition system so that your transcription / transcription is done automatically. You will still have to go back to correct typos, misspelled proper names or other errors. To ensure that the speech recognition is as successful as possible, make sure you have a good audio input.

 

Why make a good audio take?

 

High quality sound recording allows a better understanding of what is being said for your audience and for artificial intelligence. Indeed, if you want to subtitle a video automatically, you will surely use a service such as Capté Same for an audio transcription. Captured uses voice recognition. This type of technology will use the soundtrack to transcribe voices into text. Therefore, the more audible and clear your speaker's voice is, the more accurate and successful the transcription will be. For the same reasons, avoid adding music to your videos before you have done your transcription by voice recognition. Otherwise, the transcription will skip some words and your texts will not necessarily be good.

 

Good sound quality will also allow you to keep your audience until the end of your audio recording. Since sound is an essential element in understanding what is being said, listening will be more pleasant if the sound is of good quality.

 

What are the benefits for my company?

 

Useful in the field of law or secretarial work, but not only that! Transcription can be useful for your business and especially for your marketing content. 

 

With a transcript you can make your content accessible. In France, there are about 5 million deaf and hard of hearing people, a transcription will allow them to have access to audio content.

 

A transcript or transcript will also allow you to reach a larger audience panel. Indeed, you have the possibility to translate your content to reach an international audience. And transcripts can also allow you to gain more engagement (likes and dislikes) including more sharing. It will also give you more visibility thanks to the accessibility you allow (see point above) but also to the SEO.

 

Three letters: SEO, the acronym for Search Engine Optimization also known as natural referencing. Thanks to a transcription / transcription, your content will be better referenced because search engine algorithms use the text to identify keywords and reference each page. So when writing your transcription, try to integrate your keywords.

 

Most importantly, a transcript will allow you to circulate information in a more understandable and memorable way. Indeed, when you read a text, you assimilate the information better than when you read it orally. An audio transcription can help you remember and understand what was said. 

Youtube, Google, Capture...what to use to make an audio transcription or transcription?

 

For an audio transcription, there are several techniques but also several tools ready to meet your needs.

 

Google docs will allow you to make an audio transcription by voice input. You dictate your words and they are automatically transformed into text in your document. The principle is simple: you listen to your recording and then dictate what you hear to the voice input feature that will take care of transcribing the words (speech to text, it's called the parrot technique). Beware, however, the rendering is not always perfect, you have to reread the final input.

 

Your phone's voice assistant (Siri or Ok Google) uses the same voice input system. 

 

To transcribe an audio file, you can use software that will slow down the speed of your audio to allow you to write in real time. The oral rate is 200 words / min when you type about 60 words / min maximum. The management of the speed of audio file, will allow you to transcribe more easily.

 

Online subtitling tools such as the Youtube platform are also available for making transcripts.

 

This is the case with Capture, an online tool that can allow you to make audio transcriptions. This basic tech tool is created to meet the growing demand for subtitling. For the moment, the service does not handle audio files longer than 20 minutes.

 

 To transcribe a text, just a few steps are enough:

  1. Select your audio file in your folder to upload it
  2. Everything that is said in your audio file is transcribed into lines of text (if you have uploaded a video, this will take the form of subtitles).
  3. Edit your text directly in the editor
  4. Copy and paste the rendering into a text file 
  5. There you go, your audio transcription is ready and your file can be shared or published!

 

If you want to add a subtitle file to a video, Capture is also the perfect tool to meet this demand:

  1. From your folder, upload your audio file
  2. The tool translates everything that is said into lines of text that form your subtitles. Reported directly into the video in real time.
  3. Edit your text directly in the editor and modify the time code if needed.
  4. Stylize or translate your subtitles if you want to
  5. Export your video with subtitles or only the .SRT file.
  6. And there you have it, a new closed file: your subtitles were created in a few minutes! 

 

If you need help or have special requests, chatbot support is available on the application to allow the team to answer you easily. And if the Capté team is not available, an email will be sent to you as soon as a speaker has been able to answer your message.

 

Automatic does not mean perfect, we advise you to always proofread the transcripts to avoid typos and typos.

 

These various techniques will save you time, feel free to use and share them! Audio to text transcription is increasingly in demand and new applications and versions of these are being developed to meet this growing demand. 

en_USEnglish

fbpx

Aujourd’hui, la transcription audio est de plus en plus demandée. Plutôt longue à faire à la main, vous vous demandez peut-être comment automatiser ce processus pour gagner de précieuses minutes, n’est-ce-pas ? Voyons ensemble les bons plans pour répondre à vos besoins de transcription audio en texte.

La différence entre transcription et retranscription audio ?

 

Transcrire ou retranscrire, quelle est la différence et surtout quel est le plus approprié dans votre cas ? Commençons par voir la différence :

  • La transcription : c’est la rédaction précise de ce qui est dit, au mot près
  • La retranscription : vous allez rédiger ce qui est dit en modifiant ou réarrangeant les propos

 

La différence va donc surtout se voir dans le rendu selon votre façon de rédiger pour transformer votre enregistrement audio en document texte. Cependant, cela va aussi dépendre de l’objectif de vos transcriptions. En effet, un compte rendu de procès ou de réunion va sûrement demander plus de minutie ou de précision que des sous-titres et donc de rédiger mot pour mot les propos.

Comment convertir un document audio en texte ?

 

Pour convertir des documents audio en texte il existe plusieurs techniques. Vous pouvez choisir de le faire manuellement ou automatiquement grâce à des services professionnels.

 

Pour le faire manuellement, vous allez écouter votre document audio et écrire chaque phrase que vous entendez dans un document texte type Word ou Google Doc par exemple. 

 

Les services professionnels, quant à eux,  vont prendre trois formes : humaine, logicielle ou celle d’un outil en ligne.

 

Vous pouvez demander à des entreprises d’effectuer votre retranscription audio mais cela à un coût et vous n’avez peut-être pas le budget pour. Les tarifs sont souvent élevés.

 

Vous pouvez utiliser un logiciel pour retranscrire votre document audio. Souvent les logiciels vous aident dans cette étape de transcription mais il y a toujours une grande partie à faire à la main. Vous pouvez utiliser la fonctionnalité de saisie vocale d’un logiciel, pour cela écoutez votre enregistrement puis effectuez une dictée de ce que vous entendez dans le logiciel qui s’occupera de retranscrire les propos (on appelle ça la technique du perroquet). Les logiciels sont donc une semi-automatisation du processus.



Vous pouvez utiliser un outil en ligne, il en existe plusieurs depuis ces dernières années. Ils intègrent souvent un système de reconnaissance vocale pour que votre retranscription / transcription se fasse automatiquement. Il vous faudra tout de même repasser derrière pour corriger les coquilles, les noms propres mal orthographiés ou autres. Pour que la reconnaissance vocale soit la plus réussie possible, veillez à effectuer une bonne prise audio.

 

Pourquoi effectuer une bonne prise audio ?

 

Une prise de son de qualité permet une meilleure compréhension des propos pour votre audience et pour les intelligences artificielles. En effet, si vous souhaitez sous-titrer une vidéo automatiquement, vous allez sûrement faire appel à un service comme Capté pareil pour une retranscription audio. Capté utilise la reconnaissance vocale. Ce type de technologie va utiliser la bande sonore afin de transcrire les voix en texte. Donc, plus la voix de votre locuteur sera audible et claire plus la transcription sera précise et réussie. Pour les mêmes raisons évitez d’ajouter une musique à vos vidéos avant d’avoir fait votre transcription par reconnaissance vocale sinon celle-ci risque de sauter certains mots et vos textes ne seront pas forcément bons.

 

Une bonne qualité sonore vous permettra aussi de garder votre audience jusqu’à la fin de votre enregistrement audio. Le son étant un élément essentiel à la compréhension des propos, l’écoute sera plus agréable si le son est de qualité.

 

Quels avantages pour mon entreprise ?

 

Utile dans le domaine du droit ou du secrétariat mais pas que ! La transcription peut être utile à votre entreprise et surtout à votre content marketing. 

 

Avec une transcription vous pouvez permettre l’accessibilité à votre contenu. Or, en France, on dénombre à peu près 5 millions de personnes sourdes et malentendantes, une transcription leur permettra d’avoir accès aux contenus audio.

 

Une retranscription ou une transcription va aussi vous permettre d’atteindre un panel d’audience plus grand. En effet, vous avez la possibilité de traduire votre contenu pour accéder à une audience internationale. Et les retranscriptions peuvent aussi vous permettre de gagner plus d’engagement (likes et commentaires) dont plus de partages. Cela va aussi vous permettre plus de visibilité grâce à l’accessibilité que vous permettez (voir point au-dessus) mais aussi au SEO.

 

Trois lettres : SEO, l’acronyme de Search Engine Optimization aussi connu sous le terme référencement naturel. Grâce à une transcription / retranscription, votre contenu va être mieux référencé car les algorithmes des moteurs de recherche utilisent le texte pour identifier les mots clés et référencer chaque page. Alors lors de la rédaction de votre transcription, essayez d’intégrer vos mots clés.

 

Mais surtout, une transcription va vous permettre de faire circuler l’information de façon plus compréhensible et mémorisable. En effet, lorsqu’on lit un texte, on assimile mieux les informations qu’à l’oral, une retranscription audio peut permettre de mieux se rappeler et de mieux comprendre ce qui a été dit. 

Youtube, Google, Capté…quoi utiliser pour faire une retranscription ou transcription audio ?

 

Pour une retranscription audio, il y a plusieurs techniques mais aussi plusieurs outils prêts à répondre à vos besoins.

 

Google docs va vous permettre de faire une retranscription audio par saisie vocale. Vous dictez vos propos et ceux-ci sont automatiquement transformés en texte dans votre document. Le principe est simple : vous écoutez votre enregistrement puis effectuez une dictée de ce que vous entendez à la fonctionnalité de saisie vocale qui s’occupera de retranscrire les propos (speech to text, on appelle ça la technique du perroquet). Attention, toutefois, les rendus ne sont pas toujours parfaits, il faut relire la saisie finale.

 

L’assistant vocal de votre téléphone (Siri ou Ok Google) utilise ce même système de saisie vocale. 

 

Pour transcrire un fichier audio, vous pouvez utiliser un logiciel qui va ralentir la vitesse de votre audio pour vous permettre d’écrire en temps réel. Le débit à l’oral est de 200 mots / min quand au clavier on tape environ 60 mots / min au maximum. La gestion de la vitesse de fichier audio, va vous permettre de transcrire plus facilement.

 

Des outils en ligne de sous-titrage comme la plateforme Youtube sont aussi disponibles pour faire des retranscriptions.

 

C’est le cas de Capté, un outil en ligne qui peut vous permettre de faire des retranscriptions audio. De base, cet outil tech est créé pour répondre à la demande croissante de sous-titrage. Pour l’instant, le service ne gère pas des fichiers audio excédant plus de 20 minutes.

 

 Pour retranscrire un texte il suffit de quelques étapes :

  1. Sélectionner votre fichier audio dans votre dossier pour l’uploader
  2. Tout ce qui est dit dans votre fichier audio est retranscrit en  en lignes de textes (si vous avez uploadé une vidéo, cela prendra la forme de sous-titres)
  3. Editez votre texte directement dans l’éditeur
  4. Copier-coller le rendu dans un fichier texte 
  5. Et voilà, votre retranscription audio est prête et votre fichier peut être partagé ou publié !

 

Si vous souhaitez ajouter un fichier de sous-titres à une vidéo, Capté est aussi l’outil parfait pour répondre à cette demande:

  1. Depuis votre dossier, uploadez votre fichier audio
  2. L’outil retranscrit tout ce qui est dit en lignes de textes qui forment vos sous-titres. Reportés directement dans la vidéo en temps réel.
  3. Editez votre texte directement dans l’éditeur et modifiez les time-code si besoin
  4. Stylisez ou traduisez vos sous-titres si vous le souhaitez
  5. Exportez votre vidéo avec sous-titres incrustées ou seulement le fichier .SRT
  6. Et voilà, un nouveau dossier clos : vos sous-titres ont été créés en quelques min ! 

 

Si vous avez besoin d’aide ou des demandes particulières, un support technique sous forme de chatbot est disponible sur l’application pour permettre à l’équipe de vous répondre facilement. Et si jamais l’équipe de Capté n’est pas disponible, un email vous sera envoyé dès qu’un intervenant aura pu répondre à votre message.

 

Automatique ne veut pas dire parfait, on vous conseille de toujours relire les retranscriptions pour éviter les fautes de frappe et les coquilles.

 

Ces diverses techniques vous permettront de gagner du temps, n’hésitez pas à les utiliser et à les partager ! La transcription audio en texte est de plus en demandée et de nouvelles applications et versions de ces dernières se développent pour répondre à cette demande croissante. 

fr_FRFrançais