fbpx

 

Today, thanks to the Internet we have access to content from all over the world. This allows us to discover videos from the 4 corners of the world. The problem is that even if the contents are viewable, they are not always understandable because we often do not speak the same language. To counter this problem, there is a solution: video translation.

How to translate a video?

 

To translate videos, you must first start with a transcription of the audio. This step is crucial for the subsequent translation.

 

Once the transcription is done, the resulting text data must be translated into the desired language. Then, once the translation is done, you have two options for sharing the translation of your videos: dubbing or subtitling.

 

Dubbing is the most expensive solution. It is generally used on television or for films in the cinema. It requires studio work with actors who will play the transcription in order to replace the original language of the audiovisual content. After this step, technicians have to make sure that each of the actors' tirades is properly matched to the images in the video.

 

Subtitling is the simplest solution. Subtitling will be the display of the speech transcript at the bottom of the video image. Subtitling can be used to offer several languages in the same video. The problem with subtitling is that it catches the viewer's eye, yet it allows the viewer to hear the original voices of the video content. Subtitling also allows a better indexing of the video. For reading constraints, subtitling is generally an audio transcription, i.e. the audio content is reformulated, not an audio transcription (the content is written word for word).



Dubbing or subtitling will depend on the choices, constraints and objectives of each person. However, generally for short video content, for example for social networks, subtitling is preferred because it is often easier to do but it also serves to counter self-play and to allow accessibility of audiovisual content to all (deaf and hard of hearing people, people in a noisy environment or where no noise should be made ...).

 

Why choose to translate your video?

 

You're probably wondering what the point of translating your audiovisual content is. Well, we are here to show you that there is more than one reason.

 

Reaching an international audience, of course. Thanks to video translation, you can reach new targets and expand your business internationally. This can provide you with new opportunities and is therefore not insignificant.

 

Allow accessibility! If you subtitle your videos, you also allow people who are deaf and hard of hearing to access your content and therefore you also expand your audience like that.

 

Better index your videos. Translating your video is also better referencing your video. Why this? Well, it's simple, your video will be visible in different language queries and it will bring traffic. But the algorithms, in addition to taking into account the relevance of the content, take into account the traffic generated. Better yet, if you use subtitles, subtitles are a text file and the algorithms rely on the text to identify keywords and index so your subtitled videos will improve your SEO.

 

Increase your commitment! Who says more visibility also says more commitment and vice versa. It has been proven that subtitles increase the rate of video sharing but also the number of likes and comments. Especially useful when we know that algorithms also use the engagement rate to promote certain content.

 

So you will have understood that the translation of your video is a major asset, don't miss it.

How do I make an audio transcription and translate into several languages?

 

To make an audio transcription, you can choose to do the work yourself by hand or you can use a software program.

 

To offer several languages in the same video, you will need to use so-called "closed captions", i.e. make Closed Captions (CC) as you can find on Netflix or YouTube. Thanks to this specificity you can link several subtitle files to the same video and thus offer your content in several languages.

 

The first step is the audio transcription. If you choose to do it by hand, you have to listen to the video and write all the words said by hand in a text file (example: Word, Google docs, notepad...). If you choose to use a software, we suggest you use Captured. This French online tool allows you to make an automatic transcription. All you have to do is upload your video and the voice recognition system will automatically transcribe what you say in the video to make subtitles. After this step, read the transcription again so that there are no errors before passing the translation step.

 

The second step is translation. If you want to continue doing it by hand, take your text from step 1 and translate it either with a dictionary or with an online Deepl software. Once this step is over, you will need to sequence your text and add timecodes to transform them into subtitles. Prefer the .srt format, which is accepted by almost every reader. If you have used Capture, you have the possibility to use automatic translation which uses Deepl. Your subtitles will be translated automatically. Same as the first step, we advise you to proofread after the translation to avoid mistakes. 

 

The last step, video integration. For the first step, you will need to link your subtitles in each language to the base video. For the second option, Captured, you need to go to export and then upload the subtitle file in .srt format. Captured offers 5 different languages: English, Spanish, German, Italian and Simplified Chinese. Then you need to link your .srt files to your video. That's it, your content is ready to be published. Repeat the translation and file export step for the number of languages chosen.

 

It's not very complicated but by hand, it's tedious and time-consuming, so we suggest you use software. Captured allows you to meet all the requirements for subtitling easily and quickly. What's more, the translation is automatic!

 

Small point on the .SRT file!

 

The SRT file is a subtitle file in SRT format. It is the most accepted format by video players, it has been democratized with DVDs. 

 

This format is a text file containing sequenced subtitles. Each subtitle is accompanied by a number and its timestamp. The number indicates the order in which the subtitles are displayed on the screen. The timestamp is the input and output timestamp of the subtitle, which is the equivalent of timecode.

How does voice input from audio work?

As we said before, Captured uses speech recognition to transcribe the audio. It is voice recognition that enables voice input. This system is used, for example, by most of the voice assistants like Alexa, Ok Google, Siri... This voice recognition technique works by the learning machine, that is to say that we teach the software ourselves how to understand the information. Voice recognition, as its name suggests, has the function of recognizing the spoken word, once this step is over, it takes care of understanding each word to transcribe it, this is voice input. Voice input has improved in recent years, as can be seen with YouTube's automatic subtitles: they are becoming more and more accurate. This improvement is achieved by teaching the speech recognition/voice entry system its errors and correcting them. So, today, even if Captured is more efficient than YouTube in speech recognition, sometimes there are transcription errors! But the good news is that over time these errors will become less and less frequent.

en_USEnglish

fbpx

 

Aujourd’hui, grâce à Internet nous avons accès à des contenus du monde entier. Cela nous permet de découvrir des vidéos des 4 coins du monde. Le hic c’est que les contenus même s’ ils sont visionnables, ils ne sont pas toujours compréhensibles car souvent on ne parle pas la même langue. Pour contrer ce problème, une solution : la traduction vidéo.

Comment traduire une vidéo ?

 

Pour traduire des vidéos, il faut d’abord commencer par une transcription de l’audio. Cette étape est cruciale pour ensuite effectuer la traduction.

 

Une fois la transcription faite, il faut traduire les données texte obtenues dans la langue voulu. Ensuite, une fois la traduction effectuée, deux solutions s’offrent à vous pour partager la traduction de vos vidéos : le doublage ou le sous-titrage.

 

Le doublage est la solution la plus coûteuse. Elle est généralement utilisée à la télévision ou pour les films au cinéma. Elle demande un travail en studio avec des acteurs qui vont jouer la retranscription de façon à remplacer la langue originale du contenu audiovisuel. Après cette étape, il faut que des techniciens calent bien chaque tirade des acteurs aux images de la vidéo.

 

Le sous-titrage est la solution la plus simple. Le sous-titrage va être l’affichage de la transcription des paroles en bas de l’image vidéo. Le sous-titrage peut permettre de proposer plusieurs langues dans une même video. Le problème du sous-titrage est qu’il happe l’œil du spectateur, cependant il lui permet d’entendre les voix originales du contenu vidéo. Le sous-titrage permet aussi une meilleure indexation de la video. Pour des contraintes de lecture, le sous-titrage est généralement une retranscription audio, c’est-à-dire que le contenu audio est reformulé, et non une transcription audio (le contenu est écrit mot pour mot).



Doublage ou sous-titrage, cela va être selon les choix, les contraintes et les objectifs de chacun. Cependant, généralement pour des contenus vidéos courts, par exemple, à destination des réseaux sociaux, on préfèrera le sous-titrage car bien souvent il est plus facile à effectuer mais il sert aussi à contrer l’auto-play et à permettre l’accessibilité du contenu audiovisuel à tous (personnes sourdes et malentendantes, personnes dans un environnement trop bruyant ou où il ne faut pas faire de bruits…)

 

Pourquoi choisir de traduire sa vidéo ?

 

Vous vous demandez sûrement quelle est l’utilité de traduire votre contenu audiovisuel. Eh bien nous sommes là pour vous démontrer qu’il existe plus d’une raison.

 

Atteindre une audience internationale, bien entendu. Grâce à la traduction vidéo, vous atteignez de nouvelles cibles et étendez votre activité à l’international. Cela peut vous apporter de nouvelles opportunités et donc ce n’est pas négligeable.

 

Permettre l’accessibilité ! Si vous sous-titrez vos vidéos, vous permettez aussi aux personnes sourdes et malentendantes d’avoir accès à votre contenu et donc vous élargissez aussi votre audience comme cela.

 

Indexer mieux vos vidéos. Traduire sa vidéo, c’est aussi mieux référencer sa vidéo. Pourquoi cela ? Et bien, c’est simple votre vidéo sera visible dans des requêtes de langues différentes et cela va apporter du trafic. Or les algorithmes, en plus de prendre en compte la pertinence des contenus, prennent en compte le trafic généré. Mieux encore, si vous utilisez des sous-titres, les sous-titres sont un fichier texte et les algorithmes s’appuient sur le texte pour identifier les mots clés et indexer donc vos vidéos sous-titrées amélioreront votre SEO.

 

Augmenter votre engagement ! Qui dit plus de visibilité dit aussi plus d’engagement et inversement. Il a été prouvé que les sous-titres permettent d’augmenter le taux de partages des vidéos mais aussi le nombre de likes et les commentaires. Utiles surtout lorsque l’on sait que les algorithmes utilisent aussi le taux d’engagement pour favoriser certains contenus.

 

Vous l’aurez donc compris la traduction de votre vidéo est un atout majeur, ne passez pas à côté.

Comment faire une retranscription audio et effectuer une traduction en plusieurs langues ?

 

Pour faire une retranscription audio, vous pouvez choisir de faire le travail vous-même à la main ou bien vous pouvez vous aidez d’un logiciel.

 

Pour proposer plusieurs langues dans une même vidéo, il va vous falloir utiliser des sous-titres dits “fermés” c’est-à-dire faire des Closed Captions (CC) comme vous pouvez trouver sur Netflix ou bien YouTube. Grâce à cette spécificité vous pouvez lier plusieurs fichiers de sous-titres à une même video et donc proposer votre contenu en plusieurs langues.

 

La première étape est la retranscription audio. Si vous choisissez de la faire à la main, il vous faut écouter la vidéo et écrire tous les propos dits à la main dans un fichier texte (exemple : Word, Google docs, le bloc note…). Si vous choisissez l’aide d’un logiciel, nous vous proposons d’utiliser Capté. Cet outil en ligne français vous permet de faire une retranscription automatique. Il vous suffit simplement d’uploader votre video puis le système de reconnaissance vocale retranscrit automatiquement les propos de la vidéo pour en faire des sous-titres. Après cette étape, relisez la retranscription pour qu’il n’y ait aucune erreur avant de passer l’étape de traduction.

 

La seconde étape est la traduction. Si vous voulez continuer de la faire à la main, reprenez votre texte de l’étape 1 et traduisez-le soit à l’aide d’un dictionnaire soit avec un logiciel en ligne type Deepl. Une fois cette étape passée, il vous faudra séquencer votre texte et y ajouter des timecodes afin de les transformer en sous-titres. Préférez le format .srt qui est accepté quasiment par chaque lecteur. Si vous avez utilisé Capté, vous avez la possibilité d’utiliser la traduction automatique qui utilise Deepl. Vos sous-titres vont être traduits automatiquement. Pareil que la première étape, on vous conseille de vous relire après la traduction pour éviter les fautes. 

 

La dernière étape, l’intégration video. Pour la première étape, il va falloir lier vos sous-titres de chaque langue à la vidéo de base. Pour la seconde option, Capté, il vous faut passer à l’export puis télécharger le fichier de sous-titre sous format .srt. Capté propose 5 langues différentes : anglais, espagnol, allemand, italien et chinois simplifié. Puis il vous faut lier vos fichiers .srt à votre vidéo. Et voilà, votre contenu est prêt à être publié. Répétez l’étape de traduction et d’exportation de fichiers pour le nombre de langues choisis.

 

Ce n’est pas très compliqué mais à la main, c’est fastidieux et chronophage, c’est pourquoi on vous propose d’utiliser des logiciels. Capté vous permet de réunir toutes les conditions pour sous-titrer facilement et rapidement. En plus, la traduction est automatique !

 

Petit point sur le fichier .SRT !

 

Le fichier SRT est un fichier de sous-titre au format SRT. C’est le format le plus accepté par les lecteurs vidéo, il a été démocratisé avec les DVD. 

 

Ce format est un fichier texte contenant les sous-titres séquencés. Chaque sous-titre est accompagné d’un nombre et de de son horodatage. Le nombre indique l’ordre dans lequel les sous-titres sont affichés à l’écran. L’horodatage, c’est les données temporelles d’entrée et de sortie du sous-titres, l’équivalent de timecode en somme.

Comment fonctionne la saisie vocale à partir d’un audio ?

Comme nous l’avons dit auparavant, Capté utilise la reconnaissance vocale pour transcrire l’audio. C’est la reconnaissance vocale qui permet la saisie vocale. Ce système est utilisé, par exemple, par la plupart des assistants vocaux comme Alexa, Ok Google, Siri… Cette technique de reconnaissance vocale fonctionne par le machine learning, c’est-à-dire que l’on apprend nous même au logiciel comment comprendre les informations. La reconnaissance vocale, comme son nom l’indique, a pour fonction de reconnaître les prises de parole, une fois cette étape passée, elle s’occupe de comprendre chaque propos pour les transcrire, c’est la saisie vocale. La saisie vocale s’est améliorée ces dernières années comme on peut le constater avec les sous-titres automatiques de YouTube : ils deviennent de plus en plus précis. Cette amélioration s’effectue car on apprend au système de reconnaissance / saisie vocale ses erreurs et qu’on les rectifient. Donc, aujourd’hui, même si Capté est plus efficace que YouTube dans la reconnaissance vocale, il arrive qu’il y ait des erreurs de retranscription ! Mais bonne nouvelle, avec le temps ces erreurs seront de moins en moins fréquentes.

fr_FRFrançais