fbpx

What is video captioning?

 

Video captioning is a real-time transcription of the video. The transcript is displayed as subtitles at the bottom of the video image. Each internal voice is transcribed, sometimes noises and sounds are also transcribed.

 

Video subtitling consists of 3 steps: transcription, sequencing and blocking.

During transcription the audio is transformed into text. Then the text is sequenced to transform it into a subtitle line and then the timing is taken care of, i.e. the time stamping of the subtitles (time codes are added to indicate the input and output time of the subtitle display). The timing step synchronizes the text to the video. Subtitles should not be displayed after the spoken words, they should start 50 to 200 ms before.

 

Nowadays subtitling is no longer confined to television or cinema. It is also possible to use it for internal communication, as part of a content strategy,

How to transcribe a video?

To make a video transcription, you have several possibilities: you can do it yourself by hand or with the help of a tool or software, or you can ask a professional to do it for you. The latter solution is the most expensive and the first one the most time-consuming. We present you with two solutions.

By hand

If you decide to do everything by hand, you must transcribe the text of the audio into a Word or Google doc type document by watching the video and writing down every word said.

 

With the help of a tool / software :

The previous solution is long and tedious, so you can find on the Internet a multitude of tools or software to assist you in this task, we will propose two of them.

 

If you decide to do it by hand with the help of software, we suggest you use Express Scribe. This software allows you to manage the speed of the video using the keys of your keyboard to allow you to write at your own pace. You can also use Google docs voice input by doing the parrot technique (i.e. repeat what is said in the video) to do your transcription.

 

If you decide to automate the process, we suggest you use the Captured online tool. You upload your video and then Captured takes care of transcribing the audio thanks to voice recognition. You can then copy and paste the rendering into a text file to edit it as you wish. Hop, your transcription is done in no time at all.

How do I add subtitles to a video?

You may be making a video transcription to create subtitles, in this case here are two possibilities to add subtitles to a video. 

By hand

If you want to do subtitling by hand, you can use this method :

  • Transcribe the audio from the video
  • Sequencing in a text file (such as notepad) the resulting sentences
  • Write over the subtitles the input and output times of the subtitles as "00:00:00,500 -> 00:00:02,999".
  • Number the subtitles (above the time codes) in the display order.
  • Save the file in .srt format (the extension must be .srt)

 

There you have a subtitle file! This one should look like this:



You can then use this subtitle file directly in a video player such as VLC or integrate it into the video using software such as PremierePro (simply import it into your project including the video).

 

With the help of a tool:

There are more and more tools and websites dedicated to subtitling.

If you decide to use a tool, the Captured online tool is for you! Capture is the free online tool you need, it simplifies the subtitling process by automating it and you can then edit the subtitles with an intuitive editor. 

To subtitle with Captured, follow these steps:

  1. Upload a video
  2. Let the voice recognition transcribe the audio
  3. Edit subtitles to correct any errors that may have been made.
  4. Stylize subtitles if you wish to render them to your image (font, background, color etc. and you have the possibility to save your preferences)
  5. Translate subtitles if needed (do not skip the editing step to get a good video translation)
  6. Export and download the video with embedded subtitles or the .srt file!
  7. The video is ready for publication thanks to fast subtitling.

 

Capté offers several subscription offers at different prices. Capté is a tool built to be intuitive and useful to the user. It is possible to use Capté in its free version but your video will include the Capté watermark. If you don't want to, you can subscribe to the standard offer which is the classic offer at 19€ / month or the premium offer at 49€ / month which allows you in addition to the automatic translation (5 languages are available: English, Spanish, German, Italian or simplified Chinese).

 

Add subtitles to your video from a .Srt file 

 

To add subtitles to your video from a text file. First you need to transform the text file into a subtitle file (i.e. a file consisting of the text and accompanying timelines) and then export it in a subtitle format. The best known subtitle format is the .srt format. A subtitle file is an advantage for the size of your final video. A subtitle file only weighs a few kb, adding it to your video will increase the size of the video very slightly, whereas if the subtitles are burnt in your video, the video will be much bigger.

 

To add subtitles to a video in a player like VLC, your video file and the subtitle file must be in the same folder and must be named the same. Then you need to open the video in your player and select your .srt file and drag and drop it into your player. That's it, your video is subtitled.

 

To add subtitles to your video by overlay, you can use editing software such as PremierePro or FinalCut. To do so, open your software, create a project and then import your video and subtitle file (file > import). Set both elements in your timeline, style your subtitles if you wish and then you can export your video. The subtitles will then be inlayed.

 

A last solution is to use Youtube. Start by hosting your video on the platform then go to the creator studio as if you were going to add subtitles and import your subtitle file. Your file will automatically integrate and your subtitled video will be available on Youtube.

 

Which subtitle file to choose?

 

There are several subtitle file formats: .idx, .srt, .vtt, .sub etc. The best known is the .srt format and the .sub is the one used in dvd. Sometimes you have a format but you need to change it for another type of format, in this case you can use an online converter that will do it automatically.

 

The .srt format, also called .subrib, is the most widely used. And for good reason, most readers accept this format, hence its popularity. The .srt format is the format seen above. It is composed of text sequences representing subtitles, their temporal data and their orders. The .SRT file offers very few styling options: italicized, bold or underlined text, no more. The .srt format is used for closed captions. If you want more style, you should either embed your subtitles in your video or choose another type of subtitle.

 

Conclusion

 

Feel free to use subtitles in your videos as a communication tool. Use translation to reach an international audience. Captured will allow you to subtitle your videos easily and quickly to reach a larger target audience.



en_USEnglish

fbpx

Qu’est ce que le sous-titrage vidéo ?

 

Le sous-titrage vidéo est une transcription en temps réel de la vidéo. La transcription s’affiche sous forme de sous-titres en bas de l’image des vidéos. Chaque voix interne est transcrite, on transcrit parfois aussi les bruits et les sons.

 

Le sous-titrage vidéo est composé de 3 étapes : la transcription, le séquençage et le calage.

Lors de la transcription l’audio est transformé en texte. Ensuite, on fait un séquençage du texte pour le transformer en ligne de sous-titre puis on s’occupe du calage, c’est-à-dire de l’horodatage des sous-titres (on ajoute des time codes pour indiquer le temps d’entrée et de sortie d’affichage du sous-titre). L’étape de calage permet de synchroniser le texte à la vidéo. Les sous-titres ne doivent pas être affichés après les mots prononcés, ils doivent démarrer 50 à 200 ms avant.

 

Aujourd’hui le sous-titrage ne se cantonne plus qu’à la télévision ou au cinéma. Il est aussi possible de l’utiliser pour sa communication interne, dans sa stratégie de contenu,

Comment faire la retranscription d’une vidéo ?

Pour faire une retranscription vidéo, vous avez plusieurs possibilités : le faire vous-même à la main ou à l’aide d’un outil ou d’un logiciel ou bien vous demandez ce service à un professionnel. La dernière solution est la plus coûteuse et la première la plus chronophage. Nous vous présentons deux solutions.

A la main

Si vous décidez de faire tout à la main, vous devez retranscrire le texte de l’audio dans un document type Word ou Google doc en visionnant la vidéo et écrivant chaque parole dite.

 

Aidé d’un outil / logiciel :

La solution précédente est longue et fastidieuse, vous pouvez donc trouver sur Internet une multitude d’outils ou de logiciels pour vous assister dans cette tâche, nous allons vous en proposer deux.

 

Si vous décidez de le faire à la main aidé d’un logiciel, nous vous proposons d’utiliser Express Scribe. Ce logiciel vous permet de gérer la vitesse de la vidéo à l’aide des touches de votre clavier pour vous permettre d’écrire à votre rythme. Vous pouvez aussi utiliser la saisie vocale de Google docs en faisant la technique du perroquet (c’est-à-dire répéter ce qui est dit dans la vidéo) pour effectuer votre transcription.

 

Si vous décidez d’automatiser le processus, nous vous proposons d’utiliser l’outil en ligne Capté. Vous uploader votre vidéo puis Capté s’occupe de retranscrire l’audi grâce à la reconnaissance vocale. Vous pouvez ensuite copier-coller le rendu dans un fichier texte pour l’éditer à votre guise. Hop, votre transcription est effectuée en deux temps trois mouvements.

Comment ajouter du sous-titrage à une vidéo ?

Vous faites peut-être une retranscription vidéo pour créer des sous-titres, dans ce cas voici deux possibilités pour ajouter des sous-titres à une vidéo. 

A la main

Si vous désirez faire du sous-titrage à la main, vous pouvez utiliser cette méthode :

  • Retranscrire l’audio de la vidéo
  • Séquencer dans un fichier texte (comme le bloc note) les phrases obtenues
  • Ecrire au dessus des sous-titres les temps d’entrée et de sortie de ces derniers sous la forme suivante “ 00:00:00,500 –> 00:00:02,999  ”
  • Numéroter les sous-titres (au dessus des time codes) dans l’ordre d’affichage
  • Enregistrer le fichier sous format .srt (l’extension doit être .srt)

 

Voilà vous avez un fichier de sous-titres ! Celui-ci doit ressembler à ça :



Vous pouvez ensuite utiliser ce fichier de sous-titres directement dans un lecteur vidéo comme VLC ou bien l’intégrer à la vidéo grâce à un logiciel comme PremierePro (il vous suffit simplement de l’importer dans votre projet incluant la vidéo).

 

Aidé d’un outil:

Il existe de plus en plus d’outils et de sites web consacrés au sous-titrage.

Si vous décidez d’utiliser un outil, l’outil en ligne Capté est fait pour vous ! Capté est l’outil en ligne gratuit qu’il vous faut, il vous simplifie le processus de sous-titrage en l’automatisant et vous pouvez ensuite éditer les sous-titres grâce à un éditeur intuitif. 

Pour sous-titrer avec Capté, voici les étapes à suivre :

  1. Uploader une vidéo
  2. Laisser la reconnaissance vocale transcrire l’audio
  3. Editer les sous-titres pour corriger les erreurs qui ont pu être faites
  4. Styliser si vous le souhaitez les sous-titres pour un rendu à votre image (police, background, couleur etc. et vous avez la possibilité de sauvegarder vos préfèrences)
  5. Traduire les sous-titres si besoin (ne pas zapper l’étape édition pour avoir une bonne traduction vidéo)
  6. Exporter et télécharger la vidéo avec sous-titres incrustés ou le fichier .srt !
  7. La vidéo est prête pour publication grâce à un sous-titrage rapide.

 

Capté propose plusieurs offres d’abonnements à différents prix. Capté est un outil construit pour être intuitif et utile à l’utilisateur. Il est possible d’utiliser Capté dans sa version gratuite mais votre vidéo comportera le watermark Capté. Si vous ne le souhaitez pas vous pouvez souscrire à l’offre standard qui est l’offre classique à 19€ / mois ou l’offre premium à 49€ / mois qui vous permet en plus la traduction automatique (5 langues sont disponibles : anglais, espagnol, allemand, italien ou chinois simplifié).

 

Ajouter des sous-titres à votre vidéo depuis un fichier .Srt 

 

Pour ajouter des sous-titres à votre vidéo depuis un fichier texte. Il vous faut d’abord transformer le fichier texte en fichier de sous-titres (c’est-à-dire un fichier composé du texte et d’indications temporelles l’accompagnant) puis l’exporter dans un format de sous-titre. Le format de sous-titre le plus connu et le format .srt. Un fichier de sous-titres est un avantage pour le poids de votre vidéo finale. Un fichier de sous-titres ne pèse que quelques ko, ajouté à votre vidéo cela augmentera de très peu le poids de la vidéo alors que si les sous-titres sont burn dans votre vidéo, la vidéo sera beaucoup plus lourde.

 

Pour ajouter des sous-titres à une vidéo dans un lecteur comme VLC, votre fichier vidéo et celui de sous-titre doivent se trouver dans le même dossier et doivent être nommés pareil. Il vous faut ensuite ouvrir la vidéo dans votre lecteur puis sélectionnez votre fichier .srt et glissez-le et déposez-le dans votre lecteur. Et voilà, votre vidéo est sous-titrée.

 

Pour ajouter des sous-titres à votre vidéo par inscrustation, vous pouvez utiliser un logiciel de montage tel que PremierePro ou FinalCut. Pour ce faire, ouvrez votre logiciel, créez un projet puis importez votre vidéo et votre fichier de sous-titres (fichier > import). Calez les deux éléments dans votre timeline, stylisez vos sous-titres si vous le souhaitez puis vous pouvez exporter votre vidéo. Les sous-titres seront ainsi incrustés.

 

Une dernière solution est d’utiliser Youtube. Commencez par héberger votre vidéo sur la plateforme puis allez dans le creator studio comme si vous alliez ajouter des sous-titres et importer votre fichier de sous-titres. Votre fichier s’intègre automatiquement et votre vidéo sous-titrée est disponible sur Youtube.

 

Quel fichier de sous-titres choisir ?

 

Il existe plusieurs formats de fichier de sous-titres : .idx, .srt, .vtt, .sub etc. Le plus connu est le format .srt et le .sub, c’est celui utilisé dans les dvd. Parfois vous disposez d’un format mais vous avez besoin de le changer pour un autre type de format, dans ce cas vous pouvez utiliser un convertisseur en ligne qui le fera automatiquement.

 

Le format .srt, aussi appelé .subrib est le plus utilisé. Et pour cause, la plupart des lecteurs accepte ce format d’où sa popularité. Le format .srt est le format vu précédemment. Il est composé de séquences de texte représentant les sous-titres, de leurs données temporelles et de leurs ordres. Le fichier .SRT offre très peu de possibilités de style : texte italique, gras ou souligné, pas plus. Le format .srt est utilisé pour les closed caption. Si vous voulez plus de style, il faut soit incruster vos sous-titres dans votre vidéo soit choisir un autre type de sous-titre.

 

Conclusion

 

N’hésitez pas à utiliser les sous-titres dans vos vidéos comme un outil de communication. Utilisez la traduction pour atteindre une audience internationale. Capté va vous permettre de sous-titrer vos vidéos en toute simplicité et rapidement pour atteindre une plus grande cible.



fr_FRFrançais